Veteran’s Day Rant

I have mixed feelings about Veteran’s Day. On one hand I am very grateful and thankful to all the men and women who have served our country. My dad is a veteran. Many of my relatives are veterans. Several friends are also veterans. I get it.

On the other hand, how Veteran’s Day has come to be handled by the media and public leaves a bad taste in my mouth. I don’t know if I can even properly voice what it is that bugs me because it is complex. But it feels like “they” are pushing fake gratitude down our throats. It feels like the news media are all vying for the BEST veteran with the BEST story to make viewers get all teary-eyed and feel gratitude. Channel after channel teases their upcoming Veteran story. But it is obvious it is for ratings. At least that’s how it feels to me. It just feels over-produced, over-thought, over-commercialized, and just gross.

It reminds me of October and Breast Cancer Awareness Month and PINK EVERYTHING. Very little of all this pink awareness does very much for the real people touched by and living with breast cancer. I just look at the NFLs pink merchandise flooding the market and wish they’d just give that money to breast cancer research rather than selling it and promoting itself.

I want all veterans to feel gratitude and appreciation on Veteran’s Day and EVERYDAY, but I think we are doing it wrong America. Veteran’s day feels like it is becoming just another commercialized day. SALES! DISCOUNTS! GIVE AWAYS! HOUR LONG TV SPECIALS! Where is the real feeling behind it? I know many, MANY individuals feel real and genuine gratitude to our veterans, so why try to capitalize on it? It needs to be a more solemn day of reflection and appreciation.

But who am I to say anything? Nobody. Not even a veteran myself. Maybe veterans don’t feel the way I do? Maybe they don’t notice? If that’s the case, then America, carry on. But to me, it is starting to ring false and get worse each year. And there is no sign of change.

Leave a Reply

