New Year, New Blogging Mojo

2015 started today and I was sick in bed with this migraine/vertigo thing I’ve had a couple times this month. It sucked. Sleep seems to be the only thing that makes it better, so I am fortunate that I was able to do that today. I think it is triggered by exhaustion and stress in high doses.

While I was in bed I was able to ponder the New Year and what I want to be different and better in 2015. As usual, a million things came to mind and so did the desire to Change. Them. All. Right. Now. Past Me knows this is a recipe for disaster because it leads to too many unrealistic resolutions that I try to achieve at the same time. I invariably fail and end up more miserable than I started because now I get to add an extra helping of self-loathing for not doing things for myself that are good for me. I mean really, this is New Year’s Resolution 101. I know better.

I want this year to be different. I want to be successful. I want to be proud of me!

I came across a hashtag #onelittleword and was intrigued by the idea and simplicity. But of course, I quickly became overwhelmed trying to come up with the PERFECT word for me. Some of the ones I considered were:
☆Love
☆Achieve
☆Be
☆Better
☆Move
☆Self
☆Do
☆Try
☆Happy
☆Peace
☆Perfect  (the verb)
☆Accept
☆Pride
☆Believe
☆Simplify
☆Minimize
☆Focus
☆Healthy
☆Save
☆Live
☆Fun
☆Thankful
☆Brave
☆Create
☆Joy
☆Choose
☆Strive
☆Change
☆Act
☆Enough
☆Push

I realized I was falling into my same old New Year’s resolutions habits. Too many things I want to change. I wanted to find the perfect word that would encompass all the areas of my life that I wanted to improve: my weight, my parenting, my attitude, my lack of motivation to do anything sometimes, my relationships, my low self-esteem, etc, etc. Some of the above words could apply to some of these areas, but none really touched on ALL. And this thought process was defeating the entire purpose of #onelittleword.

And then I saw my #onelittleword was right there all along. It is something I want to do in all areas of my life. A single word that takes into account where I’m starting and how far I want to go without limiting me or being too grandiose. As soon as I thought it I knew it was THE #onelittleword that could motivate me, focus me, and not set me up for failure before I even started.

My #onelittleword for 2015: improve.
I am ready for you, 2015.

Leave a Reply

